Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

There are serious concerns about the extensive use of plastic products, such as bags, bottles, and various other packaging and disposable items. The world’s environment is suffering in many ways, but I believe that individuals, governments, and businesses can take some measures to tackle those issues.

There is no denying that the environment suffers significantly when people regularly produce and use plastics. One of the problems associated with plastics is that they take thousands of years to disintegrate. Therefore, every year millions of tons of plastic waste are pollute the land, waterways, and oceans. For example, plastic products are likely to have negative effects on food chains, particularly on aquatic creatures. If plastic waste is thrown away, species will accidentally swallow it as they can hardly recognize that it is not food. Moreover, in some underdeveloped parts of the world, people burn plastics to dispose of them, and that produces large amounts of toxic emissions that pollute the atmosphere and are a direct hazard to human health.

However, every individual, as well as businesses and governments should take potential can take certain actions to minimize those damaging consequences. First, the government can promote awareness of the need to limit the use of plastics through educational and advertising campaigns. Besides, they can introduce new rules, such as levying taxes on the use or manufacturing of plastic products help reduce their amounts. In addition, each citizen can participate in this campaign by using non-plastic or more ‘green’ products such as glass bottles or canvas bags, which will force the companies to change their profitable aims and become associated with more environmentally friendly brands and trends, unless they want to be eliminated by the public. The members of the community can support their authority to seek the fraud in the new laws and the cheating of the company for not following the regulations.

In conclusion, I believe that people can use many methods to prevent plastic products from harming the vulnerable environment. In terms of their massive quantities and hard disintegration, we have no action except to limit their use and apply strict rules in society.