Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that there is an increasing number of plastic bags used in shopping, which have a negative effect on the environment. In my opinion, plastic bags ought to be forbidden due to their harm to terrestrial and marine life.

It is clear that plastic bags cause a myriad of damage to humans and plants on the ground. First, plastic items mainly made from polythene have to take a long time to decompose, creating long-term consequences for human life. For example, as the collection system cannot handle the garbage, gigantic landfills are built throughout the roads annually, which is conducive for harmful bacteria to proliferate. Second, the habit of littering indiscriminately can make discarded plastics mix into the soil. As a result, not only plants but also animals and people are poisoned because of the pernicious chemicals in plastic.

Another influence of plastic bags is that they destroy the water ecosystem. To begin with, discarded plastic items sinking into the ocean pose a threat to aquatic creatures as they mistake plastics for food. Turtles, for instance, suffer from entanglement and ingestion of plastic debris. In addition, plastic waste floating around ponds and rivers can cause clogged sewers. Thus, obnoxious odors can be quickly produced, which put the respiratory system of living organisms in jeopardy.

In conclusion, the prohibition of plastic bags is essential because of their discernible effect on the environment regarding terrestrial and undersea life.