Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the detrimental impact of plastic bags on the environment, there is an increasing consensus that authorities should enforce a ban on their usage. I partially agree with this viewpoint for several reasons.

On the one hand, implementing strict policies against plastic bags has the potential to mitigate the existing environmental issues. Recent research has indicated that plastic items are a major contributor to the degradation of ecological systems, with an estimated decomposition time of over 20 years. Consequently, proponents of the plastic bag ban argue that it is the most effective measure to alleviate the damage inflicted upon the environment. From this perspective, plastic materials should be substituted with more environmentally-friendly alternatives, such as paper bags.

However, the immediate implementation of stringent policies against plastic bags is not feasible at present. This is primarily due to the fact that no other material has yet inherited the advantages of plastic. The government cannot simply persuade its citizens to abandon their habit of utilizing plastic bags by publicizing studies on the negative impacts of this practice. It is fair to assert that humans are inherently self-interested and unlikely to adopt a new practice solely for the benefit of the general public. There is little likelihood that they will pay attention to eco-friendly products if they cause any inconvenience. This can be clearly observed in the case of Nestcafe Corporation, which introduced paper bags as a substitute for plastic ones. Although this innovative idea initially attracted a large number of customers, paper bags proved to be fragile and easily worn out. As a result, the enterprise experienced a significant decrease in sales, resulting in the lowest revenue in the past decade.

In conclusion, restrictions on plastic bags undeniably alleviate the severity of the current environmental situation. However, governmental institutions should refrain from implementing a ban until scientists develop a pollution-free material that meets the requirements of shoppers.