Please help me assess this essay! Thank you!

Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money can be better spent elsewhere

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

It has been argued that the investments of government on certain fields of arts is not an effective use of money. While there may be some justifications to this way of thinking, I think that money should also be used to preserve and develop some forms of arts.

First and foremost, it is understandable why this notion receives a significant amount of support. It is believed that money need to be spent on the construction of necessary facilities. As a case in point, many underdeveloped countries are having difficulties finding financial support for building hospitals, schools and accommodation for their residents. Also, there are a variety of urgent problems that need to be tackled, which may include the problem of environment and global warming that are growing as a serious threat to all human beings. For the abovementioned reasons, it is suggested that the authority should invest more on other issues rather than arts.

However, arts also plays an indispensable part in people’s life. The education of art in primary and secondary curriculum has encouraged students to boost their imagination and creativity, which is an equally significant quality in a number of fields. This can clearly be seen in the case of inventors and designers of brands around the world. In order to make perfect products that can become breakthroughs, they must be capable of coming up with innovative ideas to meet with the growing demand among consumers. In addition, arts composes all mental values, which has long been considered to be as precious as materialistic values. Without the appearance of arts through daily things such as music, movies, paintings,…, life would be so boring and meaningless that people cannot find relaxation and motivation to work harder

In conclusion, despite some reasons behind the recommendation that money should not be used on arts, I believe that arts should not be neglected because of all the benefits that it brings to human beings.