A poor infrastructure hinders under-developed countries from progressing and modernising. Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid.

To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Many people often believe that foreign country should help poorer nations by focusing on infrastructure as the main priority to boost the development of those countries. While I believe it is necessary for some specific situations, I would disagree with this argument because this would not solve the problem in long-tem in such poverty regions.

Firstly, people are the vital element that could affect the future one country might have. Especially in poor countries where income of one person usually could not offset his cost of living, this model would be applied to the national majority and reflected into the stagnant economy of these regions. Since government received support from another country, they should focus on how to improve the citizen’s living condition. For example, higher authority could provide sufficient food and clothing to make sure the harsh life would not bother its citizen, which make them turn into another purposes instead of what to do to survive in daily life.

Secondly, it is essential that these foreign aid could be distributed into the education system of under-developed countries, where the residents could receive useful knowledge. Since people have more knowledge, they could demonstrate better in their work, which in turn create more profit to the company. At a result, the economy of country might increase in long-term.

In conclusion, receiving support from foreign country is a helpful practice. Any organization that response for this task should consider carefully to make sure the aid are effective to the future of country.