Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many people are struggling with the option to have their children learning second language in elementary level or in high school. In my point of view, I believe that youngsters should have their foreign language course while they are studying in high school.

There could be one compelling reason why people tend to encourage their children to study foreign language in primary school. Since this practice could help these youngster to be exposed with a new vocabulary at the early stage, they are able to develop the ability to regconize words and phrases better than the rest. In fact, this would give learners a better head-start in the competition with other students in their future study progress. For example, most university and college usually have a scholarship for registrants who could demonstrate their knowledge in multi-languages.

In contrast, by starting to learn a second language course while studying in high school, student could enhance their knowledge in native language more effective. In the other words, pupils could have more time to strengthen their native pronunciation, verbal and accent since they do not have to focus to another languages at the time while they are in elementary level, which will help them in obtaining relationships and communicating with other people more easily. For example, young adult will get more confidence with what they are speaking because they know them very well, they will less likely to be isolated with their friends since they could talk to them naturally. In addition, communicating skill is one of many crucial requirements that could affect significantly to the employment of a person, and he need to understand his language very well to achieve that criteria.

In conclusion, deciding what language to learn in the earliest days is very important and we should think twice before make any decision that could effect our children development progress.