Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

There is a fact that many people believe for the business to be considered as successful, it should be run by family members. This essay will look into both merits and drawbacks of this argument following by a reasonable conclusion.

In the one hand, managing a business while surrounding by family members could not be easier. Firstly, since the individual already known his colleague very well, which could be his cousins or uncles, he could communicate and concentrate on his duty better without struggling with rigid policy from other departments, which is often quite demanding in regular model company run by board of chairman. Secondly, by managing a business with other relatives by blood or in-law, the owner could be beneficial from gathering a large amount of capital from his people at the very beginning, which is difficult for most of entrepreneur since they have to focus on public funding for their plan. This would give a good head-start for several business that run by family.

In the other hand, there are variety of risks that may affect this type of business in negative ways. As the decision making process now is hardly based on transparency objective but instead rely on others members expectation, that each of them also have their own interests. In fact, it would become a challenge for a leader to satisfy every member in his family. With a faith of company laying down into the hand of group of people, it is often considered to be not attractive to the majority of investors as they know that the current status of company could be easily manipulated by people who has close connection with others in different departments within the organization.

In conclusion,it is a difficult task for family to run their own business, but the earning also very rewarding compare to others model. It is worth to consider any aspect of this type of management before launching to maintain a healthy business environment.