Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

In today's life, there is a wide array of hobby options, compared to the recent past, and some of these activities reflect the ongoing trends and fads. I would argue that this statement is true to some extent.

On the one hand, with available time and money, people try to pursue their interests with an attempt to be up-to-date and keep up with trends of the day. In that way, those hobbies are unable to stand the test of time, or rather, they come and go easily. Take electronic games as an example, whenever manufacturers bring in the latest version, the former would definitely become obsolete.

On the other hand, not everyone is a victim of the attraction of fads. A large number of people take up hobbies for their own sake and in fact, the nature of interests is to find enjoyment and contentment for individuals themselves, rather than to keep pace with social trends. This explains why traditional hobbies, like playing chess or football, never lose their appeal. Most people participating in these activities feel truly satisfied and comfortable out of their love of what they are doing.

For those aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that no matter how influential fashion can be, it cannot deny the fact that the majority of people genuinely take pleasure in their hobbies.