Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several leisure activities become fashionable ephemerally and, after that, disappear when a new trend comes along whereas others seem to be perennially popular. Therefore, I can only partly agree with the assertion that well-known hobbies are more a reflection of fashions than true interest.

On the one hand, it is, beyond all dispute, that some recreations are only passing trends. Individuals, especially youngsters, take up these recreations owing to either their current novelty or popularity among their peers. For instance, my younger sibling seems to have a different hobby each month, as he joins in with the latest craze that sweeps through his primary school. For the last year or so, he has been obsessed with Rubik, spinning tops, yo-yo, slime, and puzzles. Similarly, adults' fitness trends change from jogging to doing yoga or going to the gymnasium, and I doubt that these trends' participants will be interested in them in the long term.

On the other hand, several citizens spend their time doing hobbies that are far from trendy. Although some leisure activities such as playing chess, basketball, or football have existed since time immemorial, they are still many people's top-rated pastimes in this day and age. Citizens who take up these interests are inevitably not doing something fashionable or wasting their time on things that they do not like. On the contrary, they are passionate about these recreations because they simply find it absorbing and pleasurable. From my perspective, I would say many people feel the same about reading books, playing sports, and listening to music.

In conclusion, whereas some leisure pastimes are fashionable ephemerally, others remain fashionable from time immemorial.