The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries, particularly developing countries.

What are the causes of such hunting?

What are the effects on the animals and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond?

Poaching is a practice that has raised concerns in multiple nations across the globe, especially in ones that are still developing. This practice has 2 principle causes and an impact that is felt on many levels, which will be elucidated in the following essay.

Discussing the reasons for illegal hunting, the most alluring is the sizeable profit gained from selling desired body parts of animals to unscrupulous traders and collectors. For instance, ivories, shark fins and rhino horns are highly sought-after and charged exorbitant prices because of either their novelty and rarity values or imaginary medicinal properties. Another factor that sustains the practice of poaching is the pressure of hunting for food, which forces local people to hunt purely for meat. Exemplified by some countries in South Africa, the roots of this tend to be in famine, drought or regional political instability as these can disrupt food supply,

If left unchecked, there are dire consequences to poaching. Most immediately, the animals that are prime targets for illegal hunters may be endangered or even go extinct. This could be exemplified by the fact that certain breeds of tigers and elephants are now kept in conservative enclosures due to their dwindling numbers while less fortunate species, such as the Casperian tiger or the Dodo bird, are now permanently eradicated. Loss in biodiversity is often followed by disruptions in food chains, which eventually takes a toll on human lives. The absence of predators like tigers may trigger a population boom in agricultural pests such as deer and rabbits, which lower agricultural yields by feeding on or destroying crops. As many species disappear, there starts the erosion of a country’s cultural heritage, including its animals, landscapes and natural resources. Case in point, it is hard to imagine what Australia would be without kangaroos and China without pandas.

In brief, poaching stems from 2 main reasons: monetary gains and survival pressure in certain areas. Without proper controlling measures, it is bound to worsen biodiversity loss, food chain disruption and cultural erosion.