The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries, particularly developing countries.

What are the causes of such hunting?

What are the effects on the animals and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond?

Hunting wildlife illegally is a practice that has caused concerns in many nations, especially ones that are still developing. The origins of this phenomenon, along with possible repercussions on animals and the human population, will be further examined in the following essay.

Discussing the reasons for poaching, the most prominent is the profit gained by selling parts of animals to unscrupulous collectors and traders. Items such as ivories, furs and fins are highly sought-after and sold at exorbitant prices because of their novelty and rarity values as well as some imaginary medicinal properties. Aside from this, there is also the pressure of hunting for food, which forces local people to kill animals to sustain themselves. Roots of this observation tend to be in localized famine or drought, or in politically unstable regions in which food supply is disrupted.

Having examined these aforementioned causes, there are indeed dire consequences to the practice of illegal hunting. Most directly, animals that are heavily poached upon could be critically endangered or go extinct. Certain breeds of tigers, parrots and bears, for instance, are now confined in conservation centers due to their dwindling numbers while other less unfortunate species, such as Dodo birds and Caspian tigers, are gone permanently. Oftentimes, losses in biodiversity is followed by disruptions in the food chain and changes in the wider ecosphere. The absence of predators like wolves or tigers, as an example, can spawn an uncontrollable population boom of other species such as deer and rabbit, which damages crops. Furthermore, there is the erosion the cultural heritage of a region, which encompasses animals, landscapes and natural resources.

In brief, poaching stems from both sizeable economic profits and pressure of survival. If left unchecked, this could further endanger various species, disrupt food webs and damage a nation’s cultural heritage.