Task 2

The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries, particularly developing countries.

What are the causes of such hunting?

What are the effects on the animals, and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond?

Poaching is now contributing to many concerns all around the world, especially developing countries. The primary causes of this phenomenon is commercial and cultural; and the effect on the animals is habitat loss, which may lead to further a natural heritage erosion of a whole country.

The primary motivation for such hunting animals is profit which is made from animal materials. There is always an active group of small but wealthy people around the globe paying paying high prices for this unscrupulous practice. The high prices are attached to novelty or rarity value beside imaginary medicinal properties that the illegal traders promote in bear and gorilla market. A secondary reason is due to the culture of a country, there is custom eating wildlife for being healthier and stronger in Vietnam. Though the government tries their best to prevent illegal hunting, this phenomenon still happens lively in northern place country, particularly in rural regions which are near forestal areas.

Turning to the effects of poaching, the most significant consequence is habitat loss, which damages the ecosystem seriously. In nature, every specie all lives dependently each other on direct or indirect way; therefore, the disappearance of any individual can lead to a vast species becomming endangered and vanishing out of the world once day. On a further perspective, this can construct a natural heritage of a country which comprises wildlife, landscapes and natural resources. People cannot live in a place where the ecosystem is severely damaged with following extremes such as climate change, air pollution, soil erosion, etc. Therefore, there is always a long list of aticles on Vnexpress, a national newspaper in Vietnam, appearing to alarm people for this issue.

In conclusion, poaching can be the result of commercial and cultural motivations and its effects not only habitat loss but also a full erosion of a country in the future.