At present the mass media is very influential, and the lives of many people are affected by the news. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in this contemporary epoch, there is an unprecedented controversial issue debating among critics as regard to importance of the mass media and its merits and demerits. In this regard, a plethora of contributing factors are associated with the influence of social media on human beings’ lives. Personally, I concur with the surmise that these platforms could bring about both irrefutable and adverse consequences. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall vividly highlight the contributing causes.

To commence with, there is no denying this conviction that countless factors could play an inevitable role regarding the mass media’s infiltration in all facets of individuals’ lives. Primarily, these days, news companies have an insatiable desire to disseminate various content of news, including current affairs, economics, politics, sports, weather and entertainment, in order to cover all needs of public interests. Due to this reason, there is a fierce competition emerging among news platforms in order to gain more the public’s attention, accordingly, they always apportion an immoderate amounts of budget on recruiting professional journalists, commentators and also producing popular programs. Take BBC as an epitome of news channels, it provides multi-lingual programs held all around the globe.

Personally, I perceive that the mass media could play as a double-edged sword. On the one hand, it could pose numerous advantages; as an exemplar, in many countries governments and political parties usually try to confine the freedom of express and guide the public attention towards their interests. As a result, they always censor the contents of news propagated in their communities, especially those are opposed to their intents. Thus, ubiquitous news websites and channels would diminish the authority of these decision-makers. On the other hand, news channels, alas, usually concentrate on adverse catastrophes, because these news always attract more audience, and this could desensitize people respecting predicaments that human beings now struggle with, such as poverty, famine, global warming and widespread diseases.

To conclude, there are many contributing reasons as to why some circle perceive that the mass media has permeated all facets of human beings’ lives; however, I feel this could bring about positive and negative ramifications.