Some people think that newspaper are the best way to learn about current events. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, no one could underestimate indispensable effects of technology-based communication tools on the press which have brought about revolution in media industry. While all these technology-driven changes to the old-fashioned media have alienated some traditional readers and prompt them to follow news through electronic and digital media, others still believe that paper-based newspaper are the convenient approach to stiff through current events. This essay will explore both aspects of this argument before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

On the one hand, it is contended among some circles that newspaper are irrefutable due to their trustworthy and thorough-content-providing nature. In a sense, many individuals still do not trust news that come from the internet. The relative newness of technology-related media, the lack of patently established genre, and the scarcity of the explicit editorial policies for most Web sites suggest that information via new media might be deceitful or difficult to scrutinize. Moreover when something undeniable happened in the world, the public could generally knows very quickly through internet-based news, so newspaper could not simply disseminate an event. They ought to expand the story in order to make the situation vivid enough for their readers.

On the other hand, many proponents contest the above and argue that technology-depended media are the best way of learning current events. In the era of blogs, social media and instant communication, elites and media baron no longer hold a monopoly on mass dissemination of information. This elimination of gatekeepers-to ensure the quality and authenticity of data- has allowed individuals to become news consumers. Moreover, print-based media, e.g. newspaper, brings about irretrievable ramifications on environment. In other words, since time immemorial, excessive deforestation have occurred all around the world to surmount the accumulative old-fashioned media industry’s demand for preparing required sheets. The transparency of this issue makes it understandable why may some people prefer to learn news through other media.

After analyzing all sides of the above debate, I concur equally with sides of debates, and thus to declare one better than other is simply impossible.