Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime However a more effective solution is to provide people a better education Do you agree or disagree

The rapid development of society has led to many negative consequences including the rise in crime rate. To solve this problem, people think that a better education provided to everyone can outweigh the benefits of imprisonment. However, I disagree with this opinion as the latter is much more effective.

On the one hand, education can be too mild for the illegalities. Although schools are in charge of offering education, many juvenile delinquents start their crime from there. For instance, juvenile crimes are bullying, underage drinking violations or assaulting other students. This may stem from the fact that punishments are not harsh enough to deter them. Instead of improving their grades or focusing on acquiring more knowledge, many students commit school violence or vandalism. After being sentenced to juvie, many of them choose to go down the path with more serious crimes. In addition, education does not suit every type of criminal, especially those who have mental problems. For example, to deal with psychological criminals, it requires more specific methods rather than just educating.

On the other hand, prison is the place to isolate dangerous law-breakers from society. As a result, they are no longer able to commit crimes there. This can help to ensure other citizens' safety and make sure that the society is secure. Secondly, the poor living standard in jails can threaten the criminals. For example, while being detained in jail, criminals suffer from the loss of freedom, and a miserable life in the cells as well as being separated from their families and loved ones. As a consequence, people will be afraid of these punishments and avoid perpetrating felonies.

In conclusion, even though education can raise people's awareness, it is not enough to act as a deterrent against crime. In this aspect, imprisonment is a better choice to solve the problem thoroughly.