Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

It’s been argued that public libraries should only be a rich source of books and not to misuse their limited funds on pricey high-tech media such as; software, videos, or DVDs. This essay supports the opposite of this suggestion, pointing out to the fact that technology is becoming a vital issue in our lives nowadays.

Public libraries are all about books, this is how many people identify public libraries with. They think that technology like computers, lap-tops, software, videos and DVDs are already exist at each home or should be provided exclusively for those who in need for them. Thus, if anyone demands the assist of high-tech media, will find it easily whether at home, or at a place designed especially for such purpose. Unlike books that are regarded as a treasure hunt by many people. Besides, there are lots of old or even ancient books inherited by different generation throughout history. They should be kept safe. Although they can just be easily restored on softwares, but for them, still a heritage. Not to mention old people who aren’t good or qualified enough to deal with technology and those who like the smell of books, enjoying holding the books in their hands at the bed or on the beach. What shall they do then? They have the right to go to public libraries and still be able to find it resourceful for all their interests. Here’s why they think public libraries shall not waste their expenses on high-tech, but rather use them for getting more and more books, references and materials.

Under other conditions, technology plays inevitably a huge role in our world today. In each and every field of life, it goes parallel with the traditional techniques. In Education, number of online classes are the same as these of face-to-face ones. For sports and health, People can exercise using machines. Even in business, enormous amount of money can be transferred from one account to another with just a click. Many other daily missions to be accomplished with the usage of technology. Therefore, when it comes to libraries, knowledge and culture, of course huge budgets must be specified for supporting them with high-tech media and software. Books are becoming old-fashioned and just an option for small category of people. On the contrary, technology is the present and the future, it’s the wide commonly choice that most of us go for.

At last, books are definitely irreplaceable for many people, but we can’t just count on them as a source of knowledge and culture. It’s been wronged that public libraries should use their limited resources providing books, and not to spend them on expensive high-tech media.