Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

Public libraries play an essential role in the local community by providing access to information, supporting education, promoting lifelong learning, and also serving as a community gathering space. It’s argued that the public libraries have to offer more books than expensive high-tech media like software, DVDs, or videos to not waste their money. This essay will argue why books have an important role in society and if it’s necessary to have high-tech in public libraries.

As it’s mentioned in the introduction, the public libraries have many important educational roles in our society, so it’s important for the libraries to offer more books so that everyone can learn and get a ton of information while they're just enjoying reading a book. And getting information while you enjoy it is not just educationally important, but it’s also important because it’s healthy for the brain. Why would you let your brain get tired because you have used your cellphone or your computer just to get information when you can easily get that information from a "real book" and your brain won’t get tired? On the contrary, while someone reads, his brain will work better because when you read, your brain will automatically develop, and he will also develop the analysis. Moreover, the economy plays an important role in this case. Because for the library itself, it’s cheaper to get a ton of books than a high-tech media. And that’s why it is important that the public libraries have to offer more books.

On the other hand, it’s also important to afford high-tech media because, even though it’s more expensive than books, the libraries will buy them once and not every day like books. And as we live in an advanced era, it’s really important to buy them because, for the students, for example, it’s easier for them to search for information on the internet than in many books because the books will take them more time to find that information than the internet. And also, for people at this time, it’s more likely to understand a new thing by listening and watching. And even for kids, it’s harder for them to understand or learn something by reading it. That’s why libraries are unfortunately starting to abandon. And for that reason, the public libraries have to provide high-tech media to encourage people to spend some time in the libraries.

The essay argued that offering more books has the same importance as affording expensive high-tech media in public libraries. In my opinion, high-tech media; like software, DVDs, or videos, has an important role in public libraries because even the libraries have to develop, and there are always different types of people. For example, there are a lot of people nowadays that prefer watching or listening to reading, but there are other people that prefer reading from real books. And that’s why public libraries have to contain real books and high-tech media.