Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that local libraries ought to invest more in paper books instead of misspending their lean resources on costly high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. However, reading e-books or watching valuable videos has numerous benefits which causes e- reading and self-education trend has become increasingly popular, I believe that paper books still the most preferred option to be chosen by different segments of society to gain both of knowledge and education.

To begin with, one of the most renowned benefits of high-tech media which offer people e-reading is that it presents convenience and costless in gaining knowledge as well as education. To illustrate, many institutions, which their main purpose based on books and similar paper materials, find it so easy to store tons of books and paper stuff on low-space disk, for that reason they can save money, especially when they are facing financial resources issues. Furthermore, many people find this way more convenient to reach books that they want to read without either putting in so much effort or paying money.

On the other hand, the physical experience of reading a paper-book, is the most likely method to practice reading. Obviously a lot of people enjoy touching a book and smell its ink while reading, and they believe and so do I that it is so enjoyable and has its special traditions. So, reading a physical book still the popular option among readers’ vast majority.

In conclusion, while new technology offers various ways that is much easier and cheaper than other traditional ways, I believe that local libraries should spend more money on printed books because they still are the first option for most of readers, in addition to spend slightly less on the other high-tech ways such as cds and dvds.