Q: Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the disappearance of minority languages has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that governments should expend money in protecting minority languages, while others argue otherwise. I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that governments should make a concerted effort to keep minority languages do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that minority languages play an important role in cultural diversities that are invaluable. Another argument is that if it were not for the protection of minority languages, global nations have to invest a vast sum of money in teaching a new language to speakers who use minority languages. Given these points, some people hold the view that languages spoken by a small number of people should be protected.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than conserving minority languages given that preserving them is not directly related to people's daily life. Perhaps the most pressing problem which takes precedence over the protection of minority languages is global warming because it takes a heavy toll on people's well-being. To be more specific, a large number of citizens across the globe suffer from global warming which even leads to climate change that exerts a detrimental influence on the quality of life. Another grave issue is global hunger since it is directly related to the life of humans. According to an article released by Seoul Times illustrates that approximately 30% of people in the world died out because of poverty. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that devoting an astronomical amount of money to preserving minority languages is undesirable for the reasons discussed above.