Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that more emphasis should be on history as a school subject than other subjects, such as science and technology, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that history education should take precedence over science and technology education do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that educating history to pupils enables people to reflect on our ancestors' misbehaviour, preventing them from committing the same mistakes that happened in the past, including imperialism and colonisation. Furthermore, human beings should take responsibility for bequeathing history to future generations considering that not only can descendants feel a sense of belonging to their mother country, but they are also able to have patriotism.

My opinion, however, is that people can benefit a lot more from learning science and technology. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically-advanced era, graduates who majored in science and technology are more likely to find a multitude of well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities with greater ease because these people are more in demand in the job market. In addition, having a tight grasp of huge amounts of knowledge related to science and technology makes it possible for mankind to devise a multitude of groundbreaking solutions to contemporary issues that humans face. As a brief illustration, the development of science and technology can alleviate the impact of global warming, lessen the speed of climate change and save a myriad of people suffering from global hunger. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the education of science and technology should be prioritised for the reasons discussed above.