Q13 : The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, whether a rise in the number of multinational firms in the era of globalisation is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that globalisation exerts a positive influence on humans, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the growth of international businesses. Perhaps the principal benefit is that global businesses which have established branches in local countries can stimulate economic growth of these nations considering that international firms often create a multitude of employment opportunities, allowing local residents to land a job with greater ease. In addition, from the consumers' point of view, they can be provided with more choices, which makes it possible for them to buy global products that could result in consumers having an improved standard of living.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the globalisation trend merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local nations are more likely to suffer from brain drain. This is partly because the majority of multinational companies have a predisposition to hire local people by providing higher salaries than local firms, preventing local businesses from finding employees. Furthermore, some international companies are inclined to enter local markets without carefully investigating local environments related to business in order to maximise their sales profits, and this can lead to conflicts. To be more specific, some of them do not take responsibility for respecting not only local culture but also policies, which can even contribute to cultural friction. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.