The range of technology is increasing the gap between the poor and the rich, do you agree or disagree?

The development of technology has undoubtedly been a blessing for human civilization during the passed decades. However, some people argue that it is widening the gap between the rich and the poor. Personally, I find it hard for myself to agree with this idea for the following reasons.

Technology, in reality, has offered some added chances for the poor to change their fate. For instance, some people who encounter some difficulties such as serious disease nowadays often ask for financial aid from warm-hearted strangers through the Internet. Moreover, thanks to the wide range and high efficiency of information delivery, a lot of charity clubs and commonweal organizations are established to help the poor in remote areas in many aspects. Therefore, to some extent, technology is indeed benefiting the poor and narrowing their gap between the rich.

More importantly, the development of technology has lowered the price of some products, making them affordable for poor people. For example, mobile phone used to be a rich-only product for its high cost in manufacturing. However, it has become popularized nowadays as a result of the development of technology,which has further provided the poor with more access to information and resources.

However, it is not totally nonsense to say that technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor, especially when it comes to high technology products with high prices which only the rich can afford. Meanwhile, indeed the rich still have more access to resources which can bring them spectacular profits in this information age than the poor. Nevertheless, I think it is a limp opposition to the remarkable advantages of technology, and it is the social system more than technology, that is the root cause of the gap.

In conclusion, the good technology brings to us is undeniable. Under proper use of technology, the human being can benefit perpetually from the advancement of it.