With the recent development in the technology like e-books some people feel that the printed media like books, newspapers and magazine will soon be a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is appearance of e-books in the world's markets. As a result, a lot of people, especially children and teenagers, who are accustomed to computer screens, have already embraced e-books. And some people say that e-books are going to replace traditional books in the future. I personally feel that the growth of the popularity of e-books does not mean that paper edition will soon die out, this remains a really long-run prospect.

Undoubtedly, e-books are so popular with readers for several reasons. Firstly, they are easy to use because they are light, compact and can store up to thousands of pages. Secondly, e-books have a touch-sensitive screen which can be used to call up a dictionary, to increase the front size and even to add notes in the margin. Thirdly, the bright backlight gives you an opportunity to read in the dark. Finally, people can read e-books in public without having to display the covers. But I feel strongly, that the use of this modern technology would certainly lead to the eliminating of all printed versions of books in the near future.

First of all, most people still prefer traditional print books. They say that the device for reading e-books is rather expensive and one needs access to the Internet to download them. E-books may cause problems with eyesight because it is rather tiring to read from the screen. Some people say that one of the main disadvantages of e-books is that the battery must be recharged and that e-books can be easily broken. What is more, so far there is only a limited selection of e-books being published.

To conclude, people will always continue buying, collecting and displaying beautiful paper editions with the sole purpose of possessing them. To my mind, e-books will co-exist with traditional print books for a long time. Anyway, we'll have to wait and see.