Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, issues about environment stuck between a rock and a hard place and while some people claim that the main problem is extinction of some flora and fauna, others insist that it is not of the high priority. I would argue that the danger of climate change is more severe for humans, animals, birds, plants and other forms of life on our planet. In that case, we can consider extinction as a consequence.

On the one hand, many people think it is a disaster that a huge quantity of species on our planet have been extinct and nowadays, this number is continue to grow. For example, according to the recent studies, the quantity of bees has been declining every year. Bees, as we all know, are pollinators of food crops and if all the bees went extinct, it would destroy the delicate balance of the Earth’s ecosystem and affect global food supplies.

On another hand, global warming is believed to be a major problem nowadays. Scientific evidence for warming of the climate system is unequivocal and we can witness today a consequence as rising the global temperature, warming oceans, shrinking ice shits, rising of sea level and extreme weather events. In terms of animals, birds and insects, some of them, can only survive in a narrow range of temperatures. As their habitats get warmer, the places where they can live grow smaller. For example, some might be forced to live at higher altitudes, where it’s cooler, reducing the space they have to live in. And in this case losses of species are an implication of climate change.

In conclusion, I personally feel that the current warming trend is of particular significance and it includes another harmful process like vanishing of species.