The best way for the government to reduce traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays traffic jam is one of the most serious problems in big cities and it has made people’s lives more difficult. That’s the fact of life that a lot of people spend a huge amount of time every day stuck in traffic jams or experience problems while commuting. In many ways THESE problems seem insoluble, because of their complexity and versatility.

Undoubtedly, the government should search for ways to deal with transportation problems and look at the alternative to improve urban mobility. But the advantages of free transport system ARE infinitesimal when compared with the harm CAUSED BY THIS SYSTEM, because money the government could take from public transport ticket sales could be used to improve public transport system. In case of free city transport system, the government will be compelled to solve pecuniary problems using legislation, regulations and taxes in other ways.

In my opinion, it would be far more beneficial for riders to be contributed to more convenient transport facilities in order to lower traffic congestion. The quality of public transport letS people use it instead of cars which could decrease road capacity and as a consequence could help solve the problem of traffic blockage. Thus, the public transport system in Amsterdam is a prime example of safe and convenient alternative to cars. Every year ___ fewer and fewer people use cars and prefer to commute by bicycles, trams, trolleybuses and buses.

To sum up, attractive public transport could solve the harmFUL problem of traffic congestion more effectively rather than the opportunity to use it for free.