A recent newspaper article reports that a I4-year-old boy who seriously
destroyed his school got a punishment to clean streets instead of sent to the
prison, do you think this is right? Or the young criminals should be sent to the
jail.
Punishment for under-18-year-old children has envolved as a major topic of concern in modern
society. Some agree that the penalty for the young boy is enough to let him aware of his guilty
action, however, I firmly believe that his heavy crime is really serious that also need to put him in a
prison.
To a certain extent, I agree that cleaning streets is a suitable penalty for the boy. First, the teenager
boy, at his age, does not have awareness of the consequences from his illegal action fully. The young
boy just considered the result as distractions to the whole students on study instead of heavy
damages to school’s properties as well as the safety of teachers, students and all staffs. Second,
cleaning streets is not easy and require a hard-working attitude and a good health to do in any
weather condition. Therefore, this job could take a lot of labor and time so that might heavy enough
for his age to receive.
However, I’m of the opinion the young criminal, beside community services, should also be kept in
jail. The first reason is that although the boy is too young to take any serious punishment, he needs
to take responsiblity for his terrible action. Some heavy penalties like a prison sentence would let
him know how severe his action is and avoid committing crime again. The second reason comes from
a rehabilitation program in prison. The boy might have opportunities to improve his behavior during
attending the program and understand his conviction. This way would give the boy a full aspect to
keep a good behavior after in jail.
All in all, community services might be a good penalty for juvenile crimes, however, I believe that if
the crime leads to heavy damage, a prison sentence is need to put in this situation.