In recent years, advocating for the decrease of pollution imprints was critical, among which is for cycling as a commuting method because of its unpopularity despite the positive impacts on the environment it brings to the table. In the following paragraphs, I will be discussing various possible causes of the aversion to bicycles in the transportation industry in addition to some feasible solutions to this issue.

There are numerous dissuasions to the use of bicycles for transportation purposes. Chief among these is the natural exhaustion of energy and time, for cyclists will have to exert more physical effort to justify the zero-carbon footprints of this means of transport. This proved unbeneficial for urban dwellers, as the pace of city life hindered them from sparing any time or strength for even their most basic needs, not to say anything about such exhaustion as cycling. Moreover, the lack of government assistance also plays a role in deterring potential bike commuters, with the lack of infrastructures in many cities as authorities mainly focus on catering to the needs of the more widespread automobile drivers with little regard for cyclers. Hence, these disadvantages eclipsed the benefits of reducing pollution for many, restraining the number of bicycles in traffic.

Regardless, several measures could tackle this problem. First and foremost, the facilitation of a friendly environment for cyclists will be necessary for the enticement of the public's participation. To illustrate, the construction of bike lanes in downtown areas will provide bicycles with safer and faster commutes than four-wheelers while also enabling employees, previously impeded from cycling to their workplaces due to the shortage of suitable routes, to join the movement. Additionally, implementing administrative actions for the priorities of the cycling community can motivate the populace to switch to eco-friendly transport modes. Policies such as restricting fuel-based vehicles in city centres or raising the awareness of the masses through encouragement and education programmes can help visualize a difference in the number of bikers hitting the road.

In conclusion, while multiple obstacles exist in developing bike-friendly cities, the vision is not improbable. With the proper spending and incentivizing from the executives, an upturn in bike riders should be conceivable.

Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?