In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper book.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past few years, the proportion of people choosing to read e-books instead of paper books has increased. For many people, e-books are considered the best way to read a book. This essay will firstly, look at the benefits of reading e-books rather than hard copies and secondly, the drawbacks of reading electronic books.

One of the principal advantages of an increase in the number of people reading e-books rather than paper books is the comfort that e-books provide for users since the electronic version of books are portable on multiple devices like smartphones, laptops or iPads therefore, anytime users want to read their books they can simply open any of their electronic devices and read from it any book they choose without taking out anything with them to read and making any effort. Another significant reason why e- books are preferable to hard copies for many individuals is that e-books are much cheaper than paper books due to the costs of printing and publishing physical books which do not exist in electronic versions.

Despite, the positives of using e-books in place of physical books there are minor negatives to using them since e-books are portable on electronic devices users can not concentrate and they can be easily distracted while reading their books especially if they received social media notifications or any other distractor. Another cost why readers favour digital books over physical books is that sometimes digital copies might be forged or not comply with copyright consequently, users who are not aware of this might violate copyright and thus they breaking the laws without paying attention to that.

In conclusion, using digital books is becoming increasingly popular since it is easiest to deal with in addition to their suitable prices even though readers should be more cautious about copyrights and more concentrate while reading them.