Reporting of crimes and other kinds of violent news on television and in newspapers can have adverse consquences. This kind of information should be restricted from being shown in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The involvement of criminal reports on television and in newspapers has caused objections among viewers and readers, therefore, some people think that the media should prevent these types of news from being broadcasted. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement.

Displaying news about crimes and violence on mass media still has its own benefit.

For instance, criminal reports keep people informed about the crime rate and the situation around their living areas. In this way, people could be fully aware of what is going on and apply proper measures to protect themselves and their families. For instance, in countries with low safety like America, criminal news could save lives if citizens know which places should they stay away from and who may be a serial killer.

However, I still hold more support for the prohibition of criminal views as the media nowadays tend to exaggerate the truth in order to attract public attention. Firstly, for many young people, being exposed to crime and violence daily could have detrimental impacts on their mental development as they might view violence as a possible way to solve conflicts Furthermore, criminal news and violence seen every day on any media platform could result in a misleading belief about our world when people think that brutal behaviours are very likely to happen. This could lead to a higher level of anxiety and insecure feelings among people and in turn could make them purchase unnecessary items like cameras and guns. Ironically, many deaths in the USA are caused yearly by guns in the name of defence.

In summary, although updating news on crimes could help people know about the safety level in their neighbourhoods, they still caused adverse effects on the mental health of children and also the perspective of adults. Therefore, they should be broadcasted under the control of authorities and with a limited number.