Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Business conferences and training courses are taking place more and more through the internet. Although there are some positive results of this trend, I believe that they are outweighed by the negative effects.

On the one hand, companies switching training activities and business discussions to the online mode has many advantages. First of all, it deletes the concept of geographical distance. Instead of having to gather one place to face-to-face interaction, people can talk together at any time and anywhere, this offers staff saving a huge amount of time that could be better spent on other important tasks. This helps boost their work productivity to contribute to the development of their companies. For example, one staff is on her/his business trip through online communications he/she still can catch up with different projects of the company. Secondly, this online mode of operation could help companies economize on expenditure by not having to pay for commuting costs, printed documents or equipment for carrying out the meeting or training procedures.

However, I am convinced that this option has two major drawbacks. Firstly, communication in the form of online can be a hindrance as there might be failures in the flow of information. For example, in VietNam, not many people can afford a high-speed internet connection, and as a consequence, lagging connection or computer crashing can cause disruptions, reducing comprehension among meeting or training participants. Furthermore, online meetings depend heavily on the reliability of the internet connection due to the low level of security involved in cyberspace. According to Hiscox's survey, as many as 73% of companies really do not know how to fight hacker attacks. As a result, attacked companies lose credibility and have to compensate huge sums of money. For example, on average, a successful cyberattack costs the company $3.86 million in 2018, for businesses in the U. S it is $7.91 million.

In conclusion, despite some benefits of staying at home and participating in discussions or training sessions, the drawbacks far outweigh such benefits.