With the rise in popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to a colossal incline in the popularity of online news readers, a global dramatic decline in the number of newspaper readers is making many people believe that soon newspapers will disappear in the future. In my opinion, while reading news online has myriad benefits over paper media which might fade greatly the role of newspapers, according to critics, an important and everlasting role of the newspapers cannot not be run off.

The main reason of considering the certain dominance of virtual news over print media in future is not only the convenience to the readers, but also the cost-effectiveness. By this it means that, a person with a hectic schedule irrespective of his or her location can read newspaper round the clock on the electronic gizmos such as tablets, computers, mobiles and so forth. What is more, even one gets internet at very low data cost or at no cost almost wherever internet is free. Therefore, this tends to make online-news very promising unlike newspapers.

An another advantage is that E-news are up-to-date, fast and more believable as one can get number of news of incidents happened a few hours or minutes ago and the updates related to such news are very rapidly and frequently available unlike newspaper. Furthermore, most of the news on the internet is appealing because of the audio and visual aids, which may make readers, believe more in such news than merely reading majority of texts in the paper media. Hence, this positive side of e-news leads to make it growing more and more in future.

In contrast, some people might think that there are yet many ,those who are either old-aged as well as technological-phobic or adamant to not to get familiar with the online media or have no such means due to unaffordability or unavailability. These people could still rely on the newspapers as the most reliable source of information which has been with them for so long. Thereby, need of newspapers appears to remain always firm.

To conclude, to my mind, though an increasing number of people voraciously reading news online are likely to fade away the significance of newspaper up to great extent, yet it seems to one school of thoughts, online-news can never supersede newspapers completely.