A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefits cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this differences cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is true that because the rapid development of economy of a country, people have a higher standard of living. This made the gap between cities and rural areas is wider than the past. This phenomenon leads to negative effects, and there are some solutions to tackle this problem.

The great difference between city and countryside will cause some problem. I believe that overpopulation in metropolis is the biggest issue. This is because a large proportion of people in undeveloped areas will move to cities in order to find a better life. The population density is overcrowded would leads to many consequences such as increasing cost of living, traffic jam, environmental pollution,… Besides, it is difficult for local authorities to manage due to the fact that the rate of crime becomes increasing.

Despite the consequences of this development, Government can take some steps to mitigate the potential problems. First of all, Government should spend a deal of money to invest for undeveloped areas. I believe that infrastructure and education are needed to improve most. In addition to this, to encourage the investment from foreign companies, some policies should be set up. If these companies may build or remove some factories in rural areas, a lot of people will have job and increase income. As a result, because citizen can afford to have a better living, they will not need to come to big cities in order to earn money.

In conclusion, Government could certainly to implement a range of measures to reduce the consequences which this phenomenon causes.