The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut arts and music out of that curriculum so that children can focus on the useful subjects such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

Schools give more priority to scientific subjects in their curriculums nowadays. Some people believe that this way is the best one to prepare children for modern life. But are art and music really useless? This essay will argue why creative subjects are entirely necessary in secondary education programs.

Literacy and numeracy have always been an essence for living and onward education. It is impossible to study in and university without basic knowledge in major subjects such as maths or languages, thus there are more and more attention to these subjects at schools. Moreover, there are huge demand for specialists with academic background on modern labour market. These instances are concrete evidence why scientific subjects are extremely important and why they could not be cut out definitely.

Despite the importance of main subjects, the idea of reducing or even eliminating art and music from curriculums is a serious educational issue. If a child does like to play a piano or draw pictures, parents, teachers or whoever should help him to grow his or her talent. Without certain subjects at school there can be no another chance which is political correctness. Every pupil should have equal opportunities to study subjects they like the most. In addition, a research from a European University has shown that music lessons help youngsters to think beyond border that is a powerful reason to keep this subject.

This essay argued that there are several subjects which signifficant important but sometimes schools pay too much attention for them. In my opinion, curriculums should be balanced in both paths or pupils should be given an opportunity to choose the subjects.