The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

The pace of modern life requires us to concentrate more on education. As a result, schools keen to useful subjects such as information and technology very much. But I argue that these schools should allocate equal time for teaching all the subjects.

From a personal perspective, science subjects are deciding factor for students to find a good prospective job because the knowledge from such subjects which they acquired are so essential for greater future prosperity. Moreover, nowadays, almost employers often discriminate against those who don’t have a degree gained from universities of science and technology. It is the reason why such people find it arduous to gain the chance to move up the career ladder. Consequently, they are not able to afford a high quality of life.

In my opinion, this does not mean that only such subjects are in priority of students and their institutions. First of all, others subject such as art and music also are key factors influencing in their job prospects and domestic economic growth, meaning that society will benefit more if students are passionate about what they are learning because of those who choose these subjects from their special capability and favorite. Second, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers will begin to value creative thinking skills.

To sum up, although it might seem sensible for schools to focus on teaching subjects which are really crucial in the future, I personally prefer the equal time for all subjects