School-aged students should be taught how to manage money. Do you agree or
disagree?
Often, people debate whether personal money management is a suitable topic for a
high school classroom. However, having an understanding of monetary manipulation
is a skill that everyone in the world needs to have at least basic knowledge of. Thus,
it is agreed that high school-aged students should be taught how to manage money.
This will be shown by analyzing how such a course can both instill good business
sense in young people as well as prepare them for the working world they face after
finishing their education.
Firstly, one of the merits of educating students about money matters is that it often
fosters business success later in life. For instance, a high school friend of mine was
taught how to manage money by his father, who owned and ran a car dealership.
Today, this same friend runs a very profitable company, no doubt partly because of
the financial information his father bestowed upon him. As this shows, providing
young people with information regarding how to handle money is a good thing.
In addition to this, teaching adolescents about how to regulate their funds help to
prepare them for independence. For example, during my senior year in high school, I
was privileged enough to be enrolled in an accounting course which taught a unit of
study entitled ‘Managing Money’. I found that the topics covered in this unit were
extremely helpful the following year when I moved on to university and out of my
parents’ house. As my experience shows, teaching young people how to be
financially independent can be helpful to them later in their lives.
After looking at how adolescents are benefitted through basic monetary instruction,
it has been proven that this course of study is a positive thing. Thus, it is hoped that
high school-aged students the world over be exposed to some kind of training
regarding the handling of money.