For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that both parents and teachers influence on children intelligence and social development. In my opinion, I somewhat agree with the idea that teachers have more impact than parents in their development.

On the one hand, I believe that teachers play a vital role on children’s intellectual and social growth. Firstly, teachers are professionally trained, so they are equipped with pedagogical skills and also have a great love for children. Consequently, they can help students develop intelligence as well as communication skills through subjects such as math, music, language and various outdoor activities. Secondly, teachers spend a large amount of time transmitting not only knowledge but also moral lessons to students, which can shape their positive behaviour and make them become good citizens in the future. By contrast, parents are usually busy with their work most of the time so it is difficult to pay any attention to their kids.

On the other hand, there are understandable reasons why children’s development could be influenced strongly by their parents. The first reason is that parents are the first teachers of children in the early years. Professional education starts at six or seven years old, until these ages they learn almost aspect of life in childhood such as speaking, exploring nature and values of life from their parents. Another reason is that parents are parents know their children more than other people, therefore, they can identify their children’s weaknesses and strengths. For example, they can give suitable methods to help children balance between recreation and study, resulting in boosting their academic performance.

In conclusion, although both teachers and parents have strong influence on children’s development, the role of teachers in is more significant. Since students can be supported by professional teachers and spend so much time with their teachers in school to learn knowledge as well as other useful skills.