Accomodation and transport problems are increasing in many large cities. Businesses are encouraged to move to rural areas . Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Encouraging businesses to move to rural areas to solve accomodation and transport problems in many large cities is a developing policy. Although there are some drawbacks of this policy, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There are considerable benefits to relocating businesses from urban to rural areas. Firstly, this policy might handle the problem of housing shortage. Since it allow cities’ authorities to have more land to build residential areas. As a result, citizens could afford houses in the metropolis instead of living in narrow rental apartments. Secondly, traffic problem would be significantly reduced through this develoment. Because changing location of businesses could make the people working for these companies move out of large cities. This would make a great contribution to the reduction of the number of workers’ vehicles travelling on the streets, especially during rush hour. Finally, appearing more factories in rural areas could also create more job opportunities and boost the economic development in these places. Indeed, the sources of manual labours are abundant and cheap, which makes it useful for the company to invest intensively.

On the other hand, there are some potential disadvantages to changing location of companies. The first one is that these companies will have to spend a large amount of expense rebuilding their facilities. It also leads to the restriction in their industrial activities because it could take them months or years to restart their business. Another drawback is that the relocations will make companies move far away from their customers, resulting in increasing their product price due to higher shipping cost, thereby weakening their competitiveness in the market.

In conclusion, although the moving businesses to remote areas may have some notable drawbacks, this policy could get enormous benefits to our society. Therefore, I certainly hold the view that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.