In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Education plays a vital role in the future aspirations of many youngsters. However, there is a subtle difference between the members of both genders' choices over what subjects to study. While males show interest in science based subjects, females opt for art- related ones. I believe, this is due to the heavy influence of society on individual’s choice and changing it will bring to every young student more confidence and freedom over their decisions.

Since ancient times, women have generally been regarded as feeble and delicate members of society compared to men. Thus, they were always assigned to less demanding tasks so as not to put them under much pressure. For example, their tasks in the past consisted of taking care of house chores and offspring. Furthermore, they were mostly involved in sewing, cooking and cleaning- activities which did not require a lot of effort. In the same way, their educational opportunities are, even nowadays, meticulously regulated by others, namely, their family members. It is always not considered whether they desire to study in the certain educational institution , or not. In a similar fashion, men were always encouraged to be bold and intrepid in the face of any danger. As contrary to women, men are required to choose subjects which demand less emotions but more logical thinking, as well as , good problem solving skills. Due to the natural differences between both sexes and societal influences, women tend to choose universities with less demanding subjects such as arts whereas, men mostly apply for science and technology. Their choices are actively discussed by others who can influence them such as their family members and friends.

However, allowing individuals to make a choice of their future by themselves, gives them a sense of freedom and lets them to make rational and objective decisions. Women have already proved themselves to accomplish significant milestones in fields of science such as mathematics or astronomy. On the contrary, men can create unique artworks which are admired by many people of the world. Take great painter Leonardo da Vinci and skillful sculptor Michelangelo for example. Their irreplaceable artworks have still been astonishing people from all over the world.

To conclude, many factors can influence the choices of individuals in terms of education. However, by having a freedom over their option, they can make more reasonable decisions for their future profession.