Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In this era of globalization, technology has managed to become an inextricable part of human life. One small representative of such evolution, computers are of high importance for our daily activities. Supporters of this progress claim that it is high time for computers to be implemented in the school curriculum while others refute it by emphasizing on their negative impacts on students. I believe, students will benefit greatly by working with computers during their classes on condition that their application is closely regulated by teachers.

By providing classes with computers, school authorities do not have to fill their libraries with less in demand books. Instead they can store schools computers with electronic books which enables them to create more room for other activities such as quiet reading places or book discussion areas. Furthermore, it will be beneficial for teachers, as they can teach large numbers of audiences from different places at the same time by means of distance learning techniques. Most importantly, students are the ones who can benefit from learning via computers. Providing they can have an access to the internet, floods of information will be available to them in a matter of a second. Although, they can develop their basic IT skills such as working with documents and graphic designing which are highly required skills in their future workplace.

However, there are certain drawbacks of such progression. Firstly, if students spend most of their class hours working with computers, their interpersonal skills may decline as a result of less teacher to student and student to student interaction. They might feel less connected with the rest of the class. Moreover, having wide access to a variety of sources, students may connect to different websites exposing violent or immoral scenes. To avoid this, teachers should closely regulate the content which their students are using, as well as, should maintain balance between class interactions and computer learning.

To conclude, both students and teachers gain benefits from computers being implemented into classrooms. However, teachers should take control of certain negative effects it might bring to students' learning process.