Schools should not force children to learn a foreign

language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that learning a foreign language should not be a compulsory process. While excelling a new language may provide a lot of beneficial results, I completely disagree with the idea that schoolchildren would be forced to learn it.

On the one hand, it will benefit students if they have a chance to expose themselves in a foreign language during school years. Firstly, it would contribute a fundamental skill to open many doors to the future lives of many students. For example, with a fluency at English, most schoolchildren may find it easier to apply to numerous prestigious institutions worldwide where all lessons are conveyed by English. Secondly, the young minds would be expanded by being exposed to different customs and traditions, which can help them to gain a lot of valuable experiences. Finally, with the rapid development of the Internet, more and more enjoyable and fun materials are becoming available on many websites, especially interactive online learning. They are totally free and effective for individual learners with a basis of English.

On the other hand, it would be counterproductive if we forcibly oblige schoolchildren to learn a foreign language. One reason is that it would not be productive if students have to learn something in compulsion because of lacking motivation, study works would be done with minimum efforts and this can obviously lead to poor outcomes. Another reason is that learning should be made as a process of joy rather than a punishment, which can make young boys and girls reluctant to learn. For example, schoolchildren may ask their relatives to complete school tasks rather than doing by themselves.

In conclusion, a foreign language should be encouraged to learn rather than compelling.