Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research plays a vital role in an economy’s development. Private companies have various advantages, however, to a larger extent I support that scientific research should be performed and managed by the government rather than unaided companies. This essay will address the supporting details regarding the above statement.

Firstly, if the government is undertaking the scientific research & development there will be enormous job opportunities in public sector. For people coming from science background, it is easier to get a job in government sector when compared to private sector. For instance, unlike private companies who seek for prior experience which restricts the newly qualified pupils in entering job, the government body welcomes the newly pass out students and provides them an opportunity to implement their ideas. Also, public sector employs people on contract basis which later becomes a permanent job.

Secondly, government sector offers various monetary benefits in addition to basic salary such as, performance hike, festival bonus, yearly increment. This kind of benefits help the employees in having financial freedom. Also, if scientific research becomes a monopoly, it will result in economies growth and diminishes poverty.

In contrast, private organizations hire people for lower wages and utilize the resources to maximum without any additional monetary benefits which is demotivating. Also, private companies are less transparent when compared to the public companies. Since, money is funded through investors from different parts of the world, the outcome of the work can be biased. There is a huge possibility that research happening may put the country in havoc.

To summarize, performing scientific research is prestigious. It requires transparency and accountability towards the country and the folks. Hence, it is ideal if the government takes over the authority in conducting scientific research.