Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

There is a view held among people that in the future, people will use the global language to interact with others. Personally, although there are significant factors that account for this development, however, I would argue that using the international language is a positive social development.

The downsides of this trend cannot be overlooked. Particularly, the dominance of one language will eliminate linguistic diversity in many countries all around the world, which, in other words, can trigger cultural assimilation. Languages not only are a method that human use to communicate with other people but also encompasses many aspects of societies, which can be referred to myths, traditional activities, and even rich historical heritages. Therefore, if the unity of common language happens, the young generation easily underestimates the value of their language as well as their traditional culture, which can damage their own hometown’s traditions and identities.

However, this tendency offers several practical benefits to society as a whole. First, using a global language will give countless opportunities for people to integrate into the global working environment, which can be claimed that is a necessary urgency, especially when globalization is a universal trend nowadays. Second, without the language barrier, people can be exposed to tremendous storage of information in their mother tongue in order to heighten their intellect, which undoubtedly acts as a stimulus to increase decent standards of living as well as many countries’ national economic expansions.

In conclusion, although there are some undeniable negative consequences of this trend, I still believe that using an international language is essential for human’s future social development.