Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language.

Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

People have cooperated more and more in various fields in recent years, so the need for an efficient type of communication has consistently been a topic of interest. Many scientists suppose that humans could communicate in the same language. This essay will look at both the pros and cons of this trend and demonstrate why it would not be a good improvement.

On the one hand, it will be easier for people to study and work globally if speaking a unified language. For example, instead of translating all information from a book or research into other languages, the difference between languages would be unconcerned while humanity had the same language system. Furthermore, this will help people reduce much time for translating, and people can comfortably connect with other people worldwide. Compared with discriminated languages, same-language use seems to be better for promoting globalization and long-term cooperation.

On the other hand, I would believe that using the same languages can raise some controversial issues in society which outweigh the aforementioned benefits. At first, while using the same language, cultural diversity could be destroyed. As consequences, many regions would be lost their national identity, and the world would be monotonous. Secondly, developing a unified language, in fact, required a lot of money and time. Thus, the government should use this budget to solve other serious problems such as global warming, climate change, or starvation.

To conclude, international language may be a good idea; however, it wastes many resources and workforce, which is more essential for dealing with other crucial problems.