Should the government make university education free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, many people promote for free-college policy because they believe that pursuing higher education is a human right and the government has the responsibility for the provision of free-of-charge education. this phenomenon has both advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I would contend that this policy is positive in the aggregate.

There are several reasons against abolishing college tuition. On the individual level, the free-college policy can increase the enrollment rate. The more affordable tuition fees are, the more bachelor's degree holders there are. As a result, the job market possibly becomes extremely competitive, and the number of unemployed bachelor's degree holders will increase. On the societal level, the provision of free-of-charge higher education put a strain on government coffers, causing tax hikers and reduced welfare among others.

Apart from the practical disadvantages expressed above, I believe that a free-college policy can bring several benefits. Firstly, every student can get into higher education more actively. Unless educational institution tuition is covered by the government, students, especially people from poorer households, will not be able to freely pursue college because of financial burdens. Entitle to university, they can stand a better chance of landing higher-paid jobs. Secondly, this policy reduces educational inequality in society. The underprivileged have opportunities to attend a university and improve their life quality, bridging the inequality gap. this policy acts as a precursor to a civilized society. Moreover, the economy take benefit from the high-qualified human resource who graduated from university.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I firmly believe university tuition waivers may be detrimental in the short term, on the contrary, will have long-term advantages.