Should private schools receive government funding? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Although there are public schools which are completely funded by the government, private schools are not supported by the government and have a hefty fee structure. In my opinion, private schools ought to be funded by the government too. This will be highly beneficial for those children who are not able to afford to study in private schools.

Firstly, by providing financial aid to the private schools, the government can make sure that there are some seats available for those students who have a weak financial background. This will bring equality within the society and poor families who are not able to afford will not be left behind. This will be a positive step for developing society and nation.

Secondly, it is seen that in many countries such as India public schools have poor infrastructure, while private schools have far better facilities. Hence, if the government provides financial support to such privately owned schools, poor families too will be able to send their offspring to private schools and they will also be able to use the same infrastructure. A better infrastructure is indispensable for a better future and growth. Moreover, it can be seen that children from privileged backgrounds know better about the technologies and study options, and hence through regular interaction with such students, poor students can also learn a lot more.

To conclude, if the government funds private schools poor students will be able to enroll in them and that will be hugely beneficial for the society.