Should teachers be able to physically discipline students if they misbehave?

Nowadays, whether children should be physically disciplined by elders, especially teachers, or not is a highly debated topic. Some people suggest physical punishment is not an ideal approach whereas some argue that it helps young students develop good manners in a short time. As I see it, I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my side by providing examples.

First and foremost, physical punishment for misbehavior is considered a violent action toward innocent students. On top of all, it can ruin the trust built between a teacher and a pupil. For instance, a student will lose his confidence to interact with the teacher to express his feelings and perspectives. Especially with a strict and stern-faced teacher, the classroom will not have its friendly and lively atmosphere anymore. Moreover, being physically punished in front of a crowd can trigger any student to be traumatized for his entire teenage life.

Secondly, in most cases, teachers intend to show their desire to see improvement in students’ behaviors. In fact, it causes more harm than good. Despite following the rules at school with the fear of punishment, students will think they can act as they would like to outside the campus. Therefore, teachers should try to pass an intentional message to the youngsters by using a gentle and effective approach.

On the other hand, some guardians and elders believe there are many positives as well. Especially in this era, with the trend of social media and widespread inappropriate violent content, adults are more mischievous and reluctant to accept the advice of the old generation. Consequently, corporal punishment is the only option left after the rest failed to proceed.

To conclude, there are a variety of punishments that can be used to improve a student’s behaviors and manners, such as verbal warning, giving detention or school-related manual tasks, and informing his guardians. I consider the responsibilities lie with parents as they have much more authority and control over children. Therefore, in my opinion, teachers ought not to be allowed to physically discipline students for their misbehaviors.