Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by many that people should not be permitted to smoke in public areas, as smoking is extremely harmful and dangerous for the health of both active and passive smokers. Personally, while I agree that smoking in these areas needs to be declined directly, I consider different methods that lie on respect to each other to be more proper than restrictions.

Smoking in public places should be eliminated for the reason that it hurts others against their will. Especially when it comes to children, it affects not only their health but also their tendency to start smoking, as they tend to mimic people in their environment. Adults who are exposed to smoking are also influenced not only by the health damage it causes, but also by the desire to smoke, that some people who have reduced or eliminated cigarettes feel. Furthermore, declining smoking in public places would prevent smokers from smoking frequently.

That reduction can be successfully achieved by means of respect and kindness, instead of violence and restriction. It is shown by history, in cases such as alcohol banning in America, that restriction might result in an unexpected outcome. However, alarming smoker's consciousness about the drawbacks of smoking in public places would improve the situation. This could be achieved by underlining the dangers that it holds for everyone's health, in addition to encouraging people not to smoke, with proper signs and advertisements.

Undoubtfully, eliminating smoking in public places would be beneficial for everyone's health. Alarming smoker's consciousness seems to be the most efficient way to prevent them from smoking in such areas while banning is a rather violent solution that may have opposite results.