Social networks have brought our life only benefits. Agree or disagree?

In this modern era, with the development of technology, the internet has become more and more prevalent. This leads to the appearance of social media being ubiquitous. It is said that this situation only causes beneficial effects. I equally agree and disagree with this statement and this essay will analyze the reasons.

On the one hand, people can not deny that social networks play an important role in daily life. First of all, it is a source to acquire information. It can be explained that with the improvement of digital technology, the government not only updates news in traditional ways such as newspapers, radio, and others but also posts on social media. For instance, some Facebook accounts that have been authenticated, especially state agencies' accounts, are reliable sources for updating current news situations. Moreover, social media is also an effective assistant tool for making relationships as well as keeping contact with friends all over the world. To illustrate, creating a Twitter account can have users connect to everyone who is using these platforms without face-to-face meeting.

On the other hand, the underlying consequences of using media networks are much more concerning. Initially, the addiction to the internet is a warning signal. The percentage of people who own personal smart devices increases annually. According to a research in 2019, nearly 40 percent of survey participants spend more than 180 minutes per day using smartphones to surf social media platforms such as TikTok, Facebook and Instagram. These actions have a significant influence on users' health, both physical and mental. Furthermore, the privacy policy of social networks is still not completely strict. Scamming is a point of case. Crime tend to take advantage of vulnerabilities in the security policies of some social networking sites, defrauding and stealing user’s information.

In conclusion, besides the enormous merits of social media, people have to provide solutions for its demerits. If social networks are being used reasonably, it will play an essential role in the improvement of a country.