Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

Studying local languages at school is generally seen as less important than learning the English language. Seeing the current situation I strongly agree with the statement that the English language is important for everyone. Since the English language is widely used, it is the most essential language. Though the local language has its value, it is used only in its own country. For the survival of the local language, it can be practised at home but English should be the major subject at school. In the case of students, to get better, quality and higher education, they need to travel to those countries where English is the only language spoken whereas there is no nation where English is not used. The workers will also feel easier with foreign people if they learn English.

Firstly, students can communicate with foreigners easily so that they can learn new cultures and traditions from them. If the English subject is made compulsory, then it will be easier for them to learn during childhood as compared to adults. For example, English can help you study abroad. Secondly, the workers can also work at international levels/organizations if they have an idea about the English language. Lots of opportunities are provided in foreign countries where English is mostly used.

Learning the English language doesn't mean that local languages should be ignored. It is important that we need to ensure the survival of our mother tongue as it is a part of our culture. Furthermore, there are various ways of teaching local languages such as from parents, education from local level institutes to children.

In conclusion, the local languages should be promoted for their survival as it is our mother tongue. But due to the rapid demand for the English language, it is more important for everyone to study this language.