Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school.

Why is this?

Should this be taught in schools?

Besides academic study, students ought to be motivated to take part in leisure activities. It is argued by some people that school going should give attention to extracurricular activities. I agree with them. This essay will discuss some reasons for why debates and presentations are necessary for learners.

Firstly, extra course work activities develop soft skills in children which are essential for practical life. Confidence and communication skills are improved by participating in debates and presentations. Since market industry desired these skills in candidates, such traits can be a plus point along with academic background. Moreover, speaking in front of audience eliminates shyness from the children by reducing fear of public speaking. For example, a recent study from the Oxford University concluded that students who actively participate in presentations are more confident than those only focusing on academic courses.

Furthermore, debates and presentations are easy ways of acquiring knowledge and enhancing literacy skills. That is to say that in order to deliver speeches fluently thorough knowledge is required. Since students study the relevant topics before appearing in verbal sessions, their linguistic and literacy skills will be improved significantly. For instance, It is agreed by the top educationalists of the world that reading literature and written texts are good measures of gaining knowledge.

In conclusion, extracurricular activities boost confidence and know-how in school going children. Based on the above reasons, I believe that it would largely positive development for young people to give verbal session during their educational career because these skills will be helpful for them later in life.